Construction of Solvay Public Library 1905

Chartered in 1903, the Solvay Public Library is a municipal public library serving and funded by the Village of Solvay. The library is a member of the Onondaga County Public Library System and open to the general public. The library has a seven member Board of Trustees, volunteers appointed by the Village Mayor. A fulltime, professional Library Director manages the library, a fulltime Library Clerk, a part-time Librarian, and several part-time Clerks and Pages.

It’s facility is a local historic landmark completed in 1905 and was constructed through grants from Andrew Carnegie and the Solvay Process Company, predecessor to AlliedSignal, Inc. and Honeywell. The building is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

The library is located at the corner of Woods and North Orchard Roads in Solvay, New York, near the New York State Fairgrounds. Its collection contains more than 30,000 books and includes circulating magazines, DVDs, audiobooks, Playaways, and music CDs. Computers for public use and Internet access are available, as well as WiFi (wireless) access.

The Library is home to the archives of the Solvay Process and has special collection material related to the remediation of Onondaga Lake. The Local History room also houses archives of the Solvay Union Free District and some local history materials. Use of the room is possible by appointment only (see the Local History section of the website).

In 2008, the Village of Solvay completed a $3 million renovation and expansion to the Solvay Public Library. The Library now boasts an elevator, new meeting rooms, and enlarged reading and children’s rooms.

Funding for the Solvay Public Library is primarily from local Village tax monies. The Town of Geddes allocates some funds, as well, as half of the library’s patrons are Town residents outside of the Village. The library has a Friends group and a Foundation with an endowment fund that donate resources secured through fundraising, private donations, and grants.